cookingmadeover

Classic Apple Crisp

In Apple, Dessert on September 16, 2009 at 11:38 pm

A good friend of mine invited me to free yoga at the park this past Saturday. Neatly, a farmer’s market was only a hundred yards away and great smells and good music came drifting our way. Post-stretch (for her) / post-workout (for me), we went looking for tempting tidbits of fruit and found a booth with little apple signs. One read, “Won’t brown; great for salads!” I picked up two giant whoppers and headed for the checkout. The grower guffawed and remarked that the two apples would be sizable enough for a pie… Viola! Dessert was born in my head!

apple crisp

Mine looked just like this, I swear!

I found an old reliable source – Betty Crocker – when looking for a good apple crisp recipe that used only brown sugar (not white) and also rolled oats. I used the recipe nearly to the “T” and it came out perfectly! If only I can remember the name of the apple! *angry face* I’ll go hunting for it in the coming weeks. They were delicious!

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 gigantic “won’t yellow; great for salads” tart cooking apples, sliced (4 cups or 4 double-cupped handfuls)
  • ¾ cup packed brown sugar
  • ½ cup whole grain flour (Betty used all-purpose… I guess that’s okay)
  • ½ cup quick-cooking or old-fashioned oats (I used old-fashioned)
  • 1/3 cup margarine, softened
  • ¾ teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon ground nutmeg (which is a third of the original recipe… I don’t like the stuff)
  • Ice cream… heck yeah

DIRECTIONS

  1. Heat oven to 375ºF. Spray-oil the sides of an 8-inch square pan.
  2. Spread sliced apples in pan. In medium bowl, stir remaining ingredients except ice cream until well mixed; sprinkle over apples.
  3. Bake about 30 minutes or until topping is golden brown and apples are tender when pierced with a fork. Serve warm with ice cream.

This got an “A+” from the boyfriend.

A word of warning- I think crisp expands “in belly”… Despite how filling it was, I ate 2 servings. Oy!

  1. Love the site! And with the apple crisp, you are speaking my language sister!

    • I can’t believe you are going into labor at any moment and you took the time to comment here. How cool are you, hot mama??

  2. I LOVE apple crisp and think perhaps I should request that as part of my “tour de Jen’s home cooking” when I visit!

    • Done! I also have a crochet group I was going to make you join me for. Haha. I am so old. (But those girls, rock, and they are serving brunch!)

  3. I had the privilege of trying Jen’s apple crisp and it is AMAZING!!!

Leave a Reply

