cookingmadeover

This is a test.

In Mushroom on September 16, 2009 at 8:07 pm

Judge me if you want, but I hate mushrooms. Not all the time, but when they are slimy… ugh. Who can eat that?

This is me!

This is me!

Considering my first Cooking, Made Over recipe was  mushroom based, I thought I would research if mushroom rinsing was actually necessary. My research concluded: most people don’t feel comfortable simply wiping the mushrooms well with a towel. I am certainly not most people, so I decided to use this opportunity as a test. How would the two methods compare?

Half of my mushrooms were rinsed and buffed (our control group); the second half, merely towel dried.

Can you stand the suspense???

They tasted the same.

Tada! Science!

  1. This is from a dear gal from my hometown, submitted over Facebook. Thanks, Christy!

    “BTW, regarding the mushrooms, if you’ve ever watched Alton Brown on the Food Network, he applies science to cooking. One day he decided to do an experiment to see if mushrooms really did soak up water. 3 bunches of mushrooms, all weighed in at the start. First batch wiped, second rinsed, and 3rd soaked for about 5-10 min. Final weigh-in….barely a difference. Like maybe a tenth of an ounce or so. So yes, you’re right, they don’t soak up water like we’ve all been told. Thought you might find that interesting.”

Leave a Reply

